Fedora and GNUStep, Best Friends Forever… wait, what?

Spoke with Gregory Casamento, aka Heron, the newly anointed chief maintainer of the GNUStep Project. From the hour or so I spoke with him, seems like a fine choice. I’ve always kind of wondered why GNUStep has never made any serious inroads in the Linux world — and after reading his blog post of the 15th, it seems like he’s got a very clear vision of how to do exactly that.

And since one of the key bullet points on his list is “start courting different distributions to include GNUstep in their package set”, well by Golly, I figured I should get in touch with him. With the changes that we’re making in Fedora-land, the timing couldn’t be better. I’d love to see a Fedora-based GNUStep (plus Etoile?) distro in six months’ time. Helping these guys get their bits into more people’s hands is a pretty clear success condition for The New Fedora, from where I sit.

What’s that, you say? You think that KDE and GNOME are fine, thanks very much, and that GNUStep is crackrock? You don’t think we should be wasting our time with Yet Another Desktop Toolkit? You think that giving Cocoa developers another target for their applications is a useless pipedream? Maybe you’re right, dear reader. Maybe you’re right. But the GNUStep developers certainly have every right to prove you wrong.

So anyway. We talked, it was cool, I learned a lot about GNUStep past and present, and with luck Heron will be joining us at FUDCon Boston 2007 in February. And Heron, if you’re reading this, I know I owe you an email. As soon as I get my VPN client working, I’ll take care of it, pinky swear.

Fedora and GNUStep, Best Friends Forever… wait, what?

Leave a Reply

