Sugar for morons

I’ve discovered that my greatest skill in life is my ability to be a moron. I am at my most serenely happy when I have no idea what’s going on.

So this weekend, my goals were (a) to build Sugar on my box, and (b) to write a simple Sugar activity.

At this point, I’m about a third of the way through building Sugar. I find the jhbuild process to be fascinating — “so this is what it’s like to be a Gentoo user”, I think. As for the simple activity, Owen is working on a heavily commented “Hello World” bundle as we speak. Which I’m sure will be even more heavily commented after I ask him all of my moronic questions. 🙂

The purpose for all this: I’ve giving my first One Laptop talk at TriLUG next week, and the most important aspect of the talk, from my perspective, will be a clear call to action. People want to get involved, and I think they finally can. The way I figure it, if it’s easy enough for me to follow, it’ll be dead simple for a real engineer to follow.

(And before anyone says “oh, Greg, surely you’re being self-deprecating, you’re a real engineer,” I can direct you to dozens of people who can assure you that I am not, and never really have been.)

Sugar for morons

Leave a Reply

