Spent the evening hanging out with the kids in NCSU’s Ethics in Computing course. We had a lovely chat about the ethics of software patents.

It’s interesting, discussing this kind of hot-button issue in a classroom environment. It’s very popular to hate on software patents — I am a hater myself, in fact. But it’s nice to step up the intellectual rigor occasionally. Are all software patents bad? Are software patents differently problematic than other patents, and if so, how? Good times. Smart young folk.

Speaking of, I’ve got one more article to write on Red Hat High; hopefully, I’ll get that done this Monday or Tuesday. And then, I spend some time figuring out where to put my time most effectively. Excited to get to work on something new.

Leave a Reply

