Haha, Cloud SIG, you haunt me.

So in my new gig, one of my first goals is to standardize our organization on Drupal.   We’ve got a few folks who know a bit of Drupal on staff, Drupal has a huge community (I’m at the Drupal SF meetup now, in fact), and it’s just generally useful to know more Drupal.

What I really want is a persistent Drupal image on EC2. I just want to fire up a Drupal image, make some changes, snapshot those changes to EBS, and so on and so on. Can’t be bad, right?

Of course, my first step was to Google “persistent Drupal EC2”.

Link number one: WorkHabit. Cool, they’ve got a Drupal AMI ready to go! Lemme read down…

“The AMI includes a full LAMP stack for Drupal, based on Fedora Core 8 Linux!”

NO! NO! NOOOOOOOOOO!

Guess it’s time to start attending the Cloud SIG meetings again. I get the feeling that Fedora 8 is going to be out there in Amazon for a long, long time.

Haha, Cloud SIG, you haunt me.

7 thoughts on “Haha, Cloud SIG, you haunt me.

  1. Stephen Smoogen says:

    Wait we were supposed to be having meetings while you were gone? Darn it I will have to do something this week.

  2. You should also check out Project Mercury, part of Chapter Three’s Pantheon suite (http://getpantheon.com/).

    It’s a drupal distribution optimized for cloud deployment, based on LAMP, memcache, Varnish, Apache Solr and Pressflow, a high performance patch set for Drupal core, all preconfigured and ready to deploy. They provide Ubuntu LTS based AMIs and there’salso an extensive writeup on how to recreate the whole system from scratch with bcfg2 based configuration presets (see http://groups.drupal.org/node/70268).

  3. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

